Antique Store Miracle

14 Nov

I am so proud of myself:)

I have been looking around for a good deal on dishes for Thanksgiving.  I am serving 27 people and currently have 14 mismatched dishes.  The problem is that I have champagne taste and a beer budget.  I also love antiques.  Antiques equal pricey…usually.

So I drug the kids to an antique mall near my house and scoured each space for a set of dishes that I could use for Thanksgiving.  I found several beautiful sets that ranged from $250-$600.  A bit over my budget.  Not to be discouraged, I continued to hunt.  Low and behold, way down on a bottom shelf far off in a dark corner, sat MY dishes.  Well, they weren’t mine yet, but they were just SCREAMING my name.

Check-out these beauties:

Cute huh?

OK, so it’s not a complete set, but you’ll never guess what I paid.  Forty-five dollars!  I was doing the happy-shopper dance right there in the store.  My kids would have thought I was nuts, but they  were too busy glued to the TV set in the corner.  Those kids are like moths to a flame around a TV.

Anyway, I just love the delicate flowers and the gold around the rim.  It is going to be perfect for my Thanksgiving table.  The set is by Smith Taylor circa 1930’s and is made in the USA.  It came with 10 dinner plates, 10 soup bowls, a platter, a covered vegetable dish,  5 tea cups with saucers, 3 salad plates, a few little dessert bowls, and a sugar dish with no lid.

It was such a crazy deal that the lady at the register called the vendor just to be sure it wasn’t a mistake.  As she removed each price tag from the dishes, I asked her if I could keep them to show my husband what a great deal I got.

When I got home, I started showing him this huge pile of price tags that ranged from $6 per plate to $29 each for the veggie dish and platter.  He was getting very nervous.  Then I showed him my receipt for $45.  He kissed me and said “Good job.”

SCORE!

Maybe it was not quite a miracle, but God was smiling on me for sure.

One Response to “Antique Store Miracle”

  1. mrssedach November 14, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Love it! What a deal!

Leave a Reply

